• The First Age of Shanatar
  • -10800 DR to -8137 DR:
    Shield dwarves mark the founding of Alatorin as the beginning of the First Great Age of Shanatar. »

  • -10800 DR
  • The Cloaker Wars
    The followers of Shanat come under attack by the mysterious inhabitants of Rringlor Noroth, who rise form the depths of a great chasm in a battle for control of the caverns of Alatorin. The Stout Folk eventually prevail after Taark slays four blue dragons who claimed the Rift of Dhalnadar as their demesne. The Wyrmskull Throne is created using the skulls of the four blue dragons (some say by the dwarven god Dumathoin). The former lair of the dragons is renamed to Brightaxe hall and the kingdom of Alatorin is founded. »

  • The First Spider War
  • -8170 DR to -8150 DR
    The drow of Guallidurth take advantage of the dwarves civil war of Shanatar to attack the caverns of Alatorin, which were far removed from the front line of fighting. Brightaxe Hall is captured, and the kingdom of Alatorin falls. »

  • The Second Spider War
  • -8145 DR to -8137 DR
    Aghast at their folly, the eight reigning kings of Shanatar forge an armistice and turn their armies against the drow. The drow are overcome and retreat from the caverns of Alatorin. In triumph, the eight kings march their armies back into Brightaxe Hall and pledge never again to fight one another. »

  • c. -8100 DR
  • Deep Shanatar is at its greatest expanse beneath southwestern Faerun (present-day Amn, Tethyr, Erlkazar, Calimshan, and Alimir Pennisula). The empire is ruled from the Wyrmskull Throne in Alatorin's Brightaxe Hall. Within 150 years, trade is underway with surface elves. »

  • The Third Spider War
  • -6150 DR to -6120 DR
    The drow of Guallidurth once again attack the caverns of Alatorin. The Stout Folk are forced to abandon Brightaxe Hall, but they manage to take the Wyrmskull Throne with them. »